Discardia – Week 6-8

Tiny clear out (not including the boot full of rubbish that we hauled out of the garage) but we’re still up to our eyeballs in building warrants!

This week I’ve sold a knock off Eames style lounge chair, which I’m a bit sad about. I wanted one for ages but we just don’t have the space for it so it’s gone.

IMG_0320

And another box of books to WeBuyBooks.

IMG_0335

Money ‘earned’ – £182.51

I have to do the books in stages as I find them quite hard to part with. I’ve cleared out any ancient history or classical studies books as I’m taking next year off and have found it’s much easier to find, read and use the information in textbooks in iBook format. There’s an accepted way to reference eBook material under my university’s reference guide and it means I can take textbooks to work to read on my lunch break without putting my back out!

The fiction or general interest books are the ones I struggle most with but I’ve been quite strict with myself if I don’t think I’ll read a book again. There’s also a point, I think from Marie Kondo’s book, about how we tend to keep the books which create the image of ourselves as we’d like to be perceived, rather than who we are. A shelf full of Tolstoy when you prefer Kathy Reichs for example. So I’ve been editing with that in mind, did I really like this book, or did I like the idea of being the kind of person who likes this book?

My other consideration with books is Tabitha. I was a regular library goer, but there are some books which I’d never have thought to get out of the library and only read because they were in my parents house on a rainy day with nothing to do. So to that end, I’ve kept some books I otherwise wouldn’t have, simply because I want Tabi to have access to them later. My husband and I have a family account on iTunes, so any books purchased are shared between us as we both have iPads, but I don’t want her having a tablet for a very long time. I think it’s important to experience physical books and for her to go to a library to borrow, rather than iTunes to buy as her first instinct.

We’re probably not starting work until June so we still have a little time to clear out. There’s just so much of it, I’m finding it quite stressful!

Leave a Reply

